Lego GBC Rotating Module

Instructions available at the end of the post.

Today I present one of the creations of which I am most proud of. It took me three months to design it in LDD, but when I received the parts and built it I was pleasantly surprised. It worked great! Much better than I expected. Here it is 🙂

Its working is very simple: A PF M motor turns a worm gear and then a 24 teeth gear. This moves the entire octagon, carrying balls. Its speed is much greater than a ball per second. I have not calculated but it may be two balls per second!

The Input Hopper was the most difficult part to design and what took me longer. After many attempts I found the right way. Simply using 135 and 157 degrees connectors you can build that semi heptagon with two plates.

This allows you to collect all the balls except the last which costs a bit more :D.

So far the only bug I’ve noticed is that if the balls arrive very fast they get inside the octagon and do not go out of the module … I guess the solution is to close the inner octagon, but for now I will not close it.

The output:

Finally here you have the video ;).

INSTRUCTIONS AVAILABLE HERE

PART LIST AVAILABLE HERE

Oh! And finally, I have remade the module so it doesnt have the mistake now.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Parda
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 17:06:07

    Nice module! Its good to have instructions in LDD but I prefer building steps in photo^^

    This will be features at technic delicatessen!

    Reply

  2. maerskfan
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 17:48:06

    Very good! I like it! Come visit my blog:
    http://www.nxtl.wordpress.com
    How long did it take you to build? Are you making a GBC?

    Reply

  3. maerskfan
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 18:09:35

    I subscribed to you on YT!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nortebrick 2013March 23rd, 2012
The big day is here.
